Wanting Again At The Illustrious Historical past of the Poker Gamers Championship


The $10,000 buy-in World Collection of Poker (WSOP) Principal Occasion could be the event each budding poker participant desires of profitable, however the $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship bracelet is the one the seasoned professionals need of their trophy cupboard.

The inaugural occasion was referred to as the $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. World Championship. It launched in 2006 as was the biggest buy-in event of any World Collection of Poker till the introduction of the $1 million buy-in Huge One for One Drop in 2012.

2021 WSOP Dwell Reporting Hub

Comply with all of the live-action because it occurs from the 2021 World Collection of Poker in Las Vegas!

David “Chip” Reese gained the inaugural $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. after defeating Andy Bloch heads-up. Reese gained $1,716,000 that day plus his third WSOP bracelet. It could be the final bracelet Reese would win as a result of he handed away in 2007.

Freddy Deeb emerged victoriously from the 2007 occasion after outlasting 147 of the world’s greatest blended recreation gamers, together with Bruno Fitoussi heads-up. The $2,276,832 Deeb acquired for his victory continues to be the biggest prize awarded on this event.

Scotty Nguyen
Scotty Nguyen was victorious in 2008

The following two years noticed Scotty Nguyen and David Bach triumph within the $50,00 H.O.R.S.E. Nguyen topped a subject of 148 and walked away with $1,989,120, whereas Bach’s $1,276,802 payday got here after popping out on prime of a 95-strong subject.

Swap To The Poker Gamers Championship

Michael Mizrachi
Michael Mizrachi gained the inaugural Poker Gamers Championship

The WSOP modified codecs in 2010 when the Poker Gamers Championship changed the H.O.R.S.E. occasion. The sport rely elevated from 5 to eight, and it was Michael Mizrachi who gained the inaugural occasion, which noticed your complete remaining desk performed as No-Restrict Maintain’em to attraction to tv viewers.

Brian Rast defeated Phil Hellmuth heads-up within the 2011 version, earlier than Mizrachi gained his second Poker Gamers Championship in 2012.

British blended recreation specialist Matthew Ashton gained the 2013 Poker Gamers Championship with John Hennigan profitable in 2014 after beating Brandon Shack-Harris within the heads-up stage.

The occasion had two new video games (badugi and no-limit 2-7 single draw) added to its rotation in 2015, however it proved unpopular with solely 84 gamers shopping for in, the lowest-ever attendance on the time. Mike Gordinsky was the final man standing in 2015, a consequence that netted him $1,270,086.

Brian Rast
Brian Rast gained the $50K PPC for the second time in 2016

Rast joined Mizrachi within the double-winners membership when he was topped the 2016 Poker Gamers Championship champion; the event reverted to an eight-game combine.

Elior Sion acquired his arms on the Chip Reese Memorial Trophy in 2017. Sion was right down to solely 60,000 chips on the 25,000/50,000 stage however recovered to write his title into poker’s historical past books.

Mizrachi did the unthinkable in 2018 and gained the Poker Gamers Championship for the third time. “The Grinder” helped himself to the $1,239,126 prime prize and the fourth WSOP bracelet of his profession.

The final time the Poker Gamers Championship occurred was in 2019 as a result of the 2020 version fell sufferer to the COVID-19 pandemic. This implies Phil Hui is the reigning champion after he topped a 74-player subject final outing.

Earlier $50,000 H.O.R.S.E./Poker Participant Championship Winners

Yr Occasion Title Entrants Winner Prize
2006 $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. 143 David “Chip” Reese $1,716,000
2007 $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. 148 Freddy Deeb $2,276,832
2008 $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. 148 Scotty Nguyen $1,989,120
2009 $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. 95 David Bach $1,276,802
2010 $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship 116 Michael Mizrachi $1,559,046
2011 $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship 128 Brian Rast $1,720,328
2012 $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship 108 Michael Mizrachi $1,451,527
2013 $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship 132 Matthew Ashton $1,774,089
2014 $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship 102 John Hennigan $1,517,767
2015 $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship 84 Mike Gordinsky $1,270,086
2016 $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship 91 Brian Rast $1,296,097
2017 $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship 100 Elior Sion $1,395,767
2018 $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship 87 Michael Mizrachi $1,239,126
2019 $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship 74 Phil Hui $1,099,311

Who Will Win The 2021 $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship?

The 2021 version of the Poker Gamers Championship shuffles up and deal at 3:00 p.m. native time on October 31. It’s scheduled to run over 5 days, and PokerNews’ stay reporting crew will probably be available from the primary playing cards being pitched to the champion being topped.

Who do you suppose will win the occasion? Can Mizrachi win the event for the fourth time, or will Rast be part of Mizrachi within the triple winner’s membership? Don’t write of Phil Hellmuth’s probabilities of glory as a result of the 16-time bracelet winner’s non-hold’em video games have come on in leaps and bounds; Hellmuth completed second in 2011.

Supply hyperlink

Leave a reply